Calendar

Select one or more Categories to view calendar items for Readings, Workshops, Conferences, Calls for Submission, Contests, and Volunteer Opportunities. [ai1ec view="monthly" cat_name="readings,workshops,conferences,calls-for-submissions,volunteer-opportunities"] The Disclaimer: OPA does not guarantee the information in this calendar to be complete or accurate so be sure to check the organization's web site for submission details, and good luck! To submit items, please click the "Post Your Event" button at the top of the calendar and enter the information about your event, call for submissions, contest, or volunteer opportunity. Please be sure to select the appropriate Category on the calendar input form. After filling in the "Post Your Event" form, click the "Submit Form" button at the bottom of the screen (if you're using a laptop or tablet, you may need to scroll down to see the "Submit Form" button). If you have any questions about this calendar, please use the contact form to email the calendar coordinator.
Apr
24
Wed
2019
Art Center East presents Ryan Scariano at Grand Ronde Poetry Series @ Art Center East 1006 Penn Ave La Grande, OR 97850
Apr 24 @ 7:30 pm – 7:30 pm

Ryan’s chapbook, Smithereens, was published by Imperfect Press. Some of his recent poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Rock & Sling; Phantom Drift; Basalt; DASH Literary Journal; and Bright Bones: Contemporary Montana Writing. He has an MFA from Eastern Washington University and works at Eastern Oregon University. [www.ryanscariano.com]

Apr
25
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Poetry of Kenneth O. Hanson @ IKE Box
Apr 25 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Kenneth O. Hanson (1922-2002), an Idaho native who became part of the Theodore Roethke circle at University of Washington, with other poets Carolyn Kizer, David Wagoner, Richard Hugo. Hanson was in Asian studies in Seattle and with the US Army. His collections were published by University of Washington, Wesleyan University Press, and Breitenbush. His translations of Han Yu appeared in Sunflower Splendor and Growing Old Alive. He was a long-time instructor of humanities at Reed College, Hanson became fascinated by Greece, its people and ancient philosophers. He retired to Athens and died there.

Hanson’s poems will be presented by Erik Muller, a poet for sixty years, most of them lived in Oregon. Muller has been engaged in local poetry as an editor, publisher, essayist and self-published poet. He has edited Fireweed: Poetry of Western Oregon and Traprock Books. Durable Goods: Appreciations of Oregon Poets (2017) as well as And Yet, Selected Poems 2011-2018 (2019) are from Mountains and Rivers Press. Erik is currently an OPA Board member.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemawa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

Apr
28
Sun
2019
Free Authors Presentation @ River Road Park Annex
Apr 28 @ 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm

Poets Barbara Drake and Eleanor Berry and prose writer, Mike Copperman will share their work. Refreshments will be served and authors’ books will be available for purchase.

May
2
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Merry Clarkster @ IKE Box
May 2 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Merry Clarkster is a fictional, truth-telling character, in the tradition of Raven, Brer Rabbit, and Alice in Wonderland. His hobbies include creating shade. He learns from worms. His poetic influences are Presbyterian hymns, Jack Kerouac, Red Skelton, and Robert Frost.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
4
Sat
2019
The Poeming Pigeon: Sports – Book Launch Celebration & Reading @ Pond House
May 4 @ 2:00 pm

The Milwaukie Poetry Series and The Poetry Box present a reading to celebrate the launch of the 8th issue of The Poeming Pigeon: SPORTS.

Featured Readers:
Brittney Corrigan • Sharon Wood Wortman • Kris Demien
Penelope Scambly Schott • Margaret Chula • Toni Partington
Joshua Plack • Vivienne Popperl • Donna Prinzmetal
Barbara A. Meier • Hanna Jane Weber • Joy McDowell
Devon Balwit • Linda Neal Reising • Shawn Aveningo Sanders

About the Book:
Dive into this sports-themed collection and you’ll quickly become a fan, as our poets relive their glory days and share their love of the game. Whether you’re a competitive athlete, a dedicated amateur, or an armchair quarterback, we invite you to the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat—it’s all here between these pages. On your mark, get set. Go!

Everyone is Invited to share in the celebration. Book will be available at the event for signing or at the bookstore on ThePoetryBox.com

May
9
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Tia Borkowski @ IKE Box
May 9 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Tia Borkowski moved to Salem in 2009 to be with her husband, a local musician. She has fallen in love with the area and enjoys exploring the Valley in her free time. Borkowski’s poetry draws from her life with chronic illness, mental illness, and her relationships. She says poetry, which started as a hobby, has become her great passion.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
16
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Claggett Creek Middle School Poetry Club @ IKE Box
May 16 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

These youth LOVE reading, writing and performing poetry! Local poet and author Penina Ava Taesali teaches creative writing and spoken word using writing prompts, theater exercises, ice breakers and games for the Claggett Creek Middle School Poetry Club based in Keizer, Oregon. The Claggett Creek poets explore issues such as global warming, the immigrant/refugee crisis, school bullying and other subjects. They strengthen their creativity through writing prompts, music and theater exercises…They rock, they move, they hold, they color, they plant a world they dream to live in. Come cheer and support middle school poets: Emily, Abby, Mikayla, Ariadna, Bear and Gilberto!

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
23
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Rebecca Smolen @ IKE Box
May 23 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Rebecca Smolen is a writer based in Portland transplanted from New Hampshire in 2014. She grew up on a dead-end road exploring drainage pipes and pond life. You can find her writing in the Unchaste Anthology Vol. 2 & 3, Mutha Magazine, VoiceCatcher and in her first collection “Womanhood and Other Scars.”

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
30
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Doug Stone @ IKE Box
May 30 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Doug Stone lives in Albany, Oregon. He has been a social worker, policy analyst, and consultant on public policy issues. He has written two poetry collections, The Season of Distress and Clarity and The Moon’s Soul Shimmering on the Water. Stone won the Oregon Poetry Association’s Fall, 2016 Poet’s Choice Award for his poem Things You Know But Cannot Explain. His poems have been published in numerous journals and in the anthology, A Ritual To Read Together: Poems in Conversation with William Stafford.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/