Calendar

Select one or more Categories to view calendar items for Readings, Workshops, Conferences, Calls for Submission, Contests, and Volunteer Opportunities. [ai1ec view="monthly" cat_name="readings,workshops,conferences,calls-for-submissions,volunteer-opportunities"] The Disclaimer: OPA does not guarantee the information in this calendar to be complete or accurate so be sure to check the organization's web site for submission details, and good luck! To submit items, please click the "Post Your Event" button at the top of the calendar and enter the information about your event, call for submissions, contest, or volunteer opportunity. Please be sure to select the appropriate Category on the calendar input form. After filling in the "Post Your Event" form, click the "Submit Form" button at the bottom of the screen (if you're using a laptop or tablet, you may need to scroll down to see the "Submit Form" button). If you have any questions about this calendar, please use the contact form to email the calendar coordinator.
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Merry Clarkster 7:00 pm
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Merry Clarkster @ IKE Box
May 2 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Merry Clarkster is a fictional, truth-telling character, in the tradition of Raven, Brer Rabbit, and Alice in Wonderland. His hobbies include creating shade. He learns from worms. His poetic influences are Presbyterian hymns, Jack Kerouac, Red Skelton, and Robert Frost. … Continue reading
3
4
The Poeming Pigeon: Sports – Book Launch Celebration & Reading 2:00 pm
The Poeming Pigeon: Sports – Book Launch Celebration & Reading @ Pond House
May 4 @ 2:00 pm
The Milwaukie Poetry Series and The Poetry Box present a reading to celebrate the launch of the 8th issue of The Poeming Pigeon: SPORTS. Featured Readers: Brittney Corrigan • Sharon Wood Wortman • Kris Demien Penelope Scambly Schott • Margaret … Continue reading
5
6
7
8
9
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Tia Borkowski 7:00 pm
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Tia Borkowski @ IKE Box
May 9 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Tia Borkowski moved to Salem in 2009 to be with her husband, a local musician. She has fallen in love with the area and enjoys exploring the Valley in her free time. Borkowski’s poetry draws from her life with chronic … Continue reading
10
11
12
13
14
15
Art Center East Writing Project 7:00 pm
Art Center East Writing Project @ Art Center East
May 15 @ 7:00 pm
Ryan’s chapbook, Smithereens, was published by Imperfect Press. Some of his recent poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Rock & Sling; Phantom Drift; Basalt; DASH Literary Journal; and Bright Bones: Contemporary Montana Writing. He has an MFA from Eastern … Continue reading
16
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Claggett Creek Middle School Poetry Club 7:00 pm
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Claggett Creek Middle School Poetry Club @ IKE Box
May 16 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
These youth LOVE reading, writing and performing poetry! Local poet and author Penina Ava Taesali teaches creative writing and spoken word using writing prompts, theater exercises, ice breakers and games for the Claggett Creek Middle School Poetry Club based in … Continue reading
17
18
19
20
21
Windfall Reading Series 6:00 pm
Windfall Reading Series @ Eugene Public Library
May 21 @ 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Poets Geri Doran and Jenny Root will read their work. free and open to all.Like this:Like Loading...
22
23
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Rebecca Smolen 7:00 pm
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Rebecca Smolen @ IKE Box
May 23 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Rebecca Smolen is a writer based in Portland transplanted from New Hampshire in 2014. She grew up on a dead-end road exploring drainage pipes and pond life. You can find her writing in the Unchaste Anthology Vol. 2 & 3, … Continue reading
24
25
26
Peregrine Literary Series 3:00 pm
Peregrine Literary Series @ Stickman's Brew Pub
May 26 @ 3:00 pm
Enjoy pub menu or libations while two local authors present their latest books. Marian Pierce, university instructor, reads from Finding Land: Stories of Japan, and Armin Tolentino, author and non-profit board member reads selections from We Meant to Bring It … Continue reading
27
28
29
30
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Doug Stone 7:00 pm
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Doug Stone @ IKE Box
May 30 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Doug Stone lives in Albany, Oregon. He has been a social worker, policy analyst, and consultant on public policy issues. He has written two poetry collections, The Season of Distress and Clarity and The Moon’s Soul Shimmering on the Water. … Continue reading
31