Calendar

Select one or more Categories to view calendar items for Readings, Workshops, Conferences, Calls for Submission, Contests, and Volunteer Opportunities. [ai1ec view="monthly" cat_name="readings,workshops,conferences,calls-for-submissions,volunteer-opportunities"] The Disclaimer: OPA does not guarantee the information in this calendar to be complete or accurate so be sure to check the organization's web site for submission details, and good luck! To submit items, please click the "Post Your Event" button at the top of the calendar and enter the information about your event, call for submissions, contest, or volunteer opportunity. Please be sure to select the appropriate Category on the calendar input form. After filling in the "Post Your Event" form, click the "Submit Form" button at the bottom of the screen (if you're using a laptop or tablet, you may need to scroll down to see the "Submit Form" button). If you have any questions about this calendar, please use the contact form to email the calendar coordinator.
Apr
14
Sun
2019
Peregrine Literary Series @ Stickman's Brew Pub
Apr 14 @ 3:00 pm

Celebrate National Poetry Month at this family-friendly venue with local authors
Penelope Scambly Schott and Dale Champlin. Enjoy selections from the pub menu.
Books available for purchase and autographing..
Canned goods or cash donations collected for the Oregon Food Bank.

Apr
15
Mon
2019
The Poeming Pigeon: Open for Submissions (Theme = The Cosmos) @ The Poetry Box®
Apr 15 – Jun 15 all-day

THE COSMOS ISSUE: (The Poeming Pigeon #9)

From the learning how to locate the Little Dipper to standing awe-struck under the Milky Way, humans have been asking: What’s out there in the great beyond? Could we survive on Mars? What is dark matter? Are wormholes the secret to time travel? Our curiosity is as vast as the universe itself. Send us your best stargazing poems exploring the great beyond, string theory and black holes. Make a case for Pluto–planet or not planet? This theme is yours to take to the outer limits.

• The Cosmos Issue scheduled for release in Winter 2019/20.
• All Contributors receive a FREE copy of the print journal.
• Please note, we are not accepting reprints for this or future issues.
• Submission Period: April 15 – June 15, 2019 (via Submittable only)
• $3 to submit a group of 3 poems.

Apr
18
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Poetry of Ben Hur Lampman @ IKE Box
Apr 18 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Ben Hur Lampman was named Oregon’s Poet Laureate in 1951; he held that post until his death in 1954 at age 67. Lampman was one of Oregon’s most popular writers in the first half of the twentieth century as a regular contributor to The Saturday Evening Post, Sunset, and many other popular magazines. Versatile, Lampman was known as a reporter, commentator, storyteller, naturalist, historian, and poet.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemawa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

Apr
24
Wed
2019
Art Center East presents Ryan Scariano at Grand Ronde Poetry Series @ Art Center East 1006 Penn Ave La Grande, OR 97850
Apr 24 @ 7:30 pm – 7:30 pm

Ryan’s chapbook, Smithereens, was published by Imperfect Press. Some of his recent poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Rock & Sling; Phantom Drift; Basalt; DASH Literary Journal; and Bright Bones: Contemporary Montana Writing. He has an MFA from Eastern Washington University and works at Eastern Oregon University. [www.ryanscariano.com]

Apr
25
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Poetry of Kenneth O. Hanson @ IKE Box
Apr 25 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Kenneth O. Hanson (1922-2002), an Idaho native who became part of the Theodore Roethke circle at University of Washington, with other poets Carolyn Kizer, David Wagoner, Richard Hugo. Hanson was in Asian studies in Seattle and with the US Army. His collections were published by University of Washington, Wesleyan University Press, and Breitenbush. His translations of Han Yu appeared in Sunflower Splendor and Growing Old Alive. He was a long-time instructor of humanities at Reed College, Hanson became fascinated by Greece, its people and ancient philosophers. He retired to Athens and died there.

Hanson’s poems will be presented by Erik Muller, a poet for sixty years, most of them lived in Oregon. Muller has been engaged in local poetry as an editor, publisher, essayist and self-published poet. He has edited Fireweed: Poetry of Western Oregon and Traprock Books. Durable Goods: Appreciations of Oregon Poets (2017) as well as And Yet, Selected Poems 2011-2018 (2019) are from Mountains and Rivers Press. Erik is currently an OPA Board member.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemawa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

Apr
28
Sun
2019
Free Authors Presentation @ River Road Park Annex
Apr 28 @ 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm

Poets Barbara Drake and Eleanor Berry and prose writer, Mike Copperman will share their work. Refreshments will be served and authors’ books will be available for purchase.

May
2
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring the Merry Clarkster @ IKE Box
May 2 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Merry Clarkster is a fictional, truth-telling character, in the tradition of Raven, Brer Rabbit, and Alice in Wonderland. His hobbies include creating shade. He learns from worms. His poetic influences are Presbyterian hymns, Jack Kerouac, Red Skelton, and Robert Frost.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
4
Sat
2019
The Poeming Pigeon: Sports – Book Launch Celebration & Reading @ Pond House
May 4 @ 2:00 pm

The Milwaukie Poetry Series and The Poetry Box present a reading to celebrate the launch of the 8th issue of The Poeming Pigeon: SPORTS.

Featured Readers:
Brittney Corrigan • Sharon Wood Wortman • Kris Demien
Penelope Scambly Schott • Margaret Chula • Toni Partington
Joshua Plack • Vivienne Popperl • Donna Prinzmetal
Barbara A. Meier • Hanna Jane Weber • Joy McDowell
Devon Balwit • Linda Neal Reising • Shawn Aveningo Sanders

About the Book:
Dive into this sports-themed collection and you’ll quickly become a fan, as our poets relive their glory days and share their love of the game. Whether you’re a competitive athlete, a dedicated amateur, or an armchair quarterback, we invite you to the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat—it’s all here between these pages. On your mark, get set. Go!

Everyone is Invited to share in the celebration. Book will be available at the event for signing or at the bookstore on ThePoetryBox.com

May
9
Thu
2019
Salem Poetry Project Featuring Tia Borkowski @ IKE Box
May 9 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Tia Borkowski moved to Salem in 2009 to be with her husband, a local musician. She has fallen in love with the area and enjoys exploring the Valley in her free time. Borkowski’s poetry draws from her life with chronic illness, mental illness, and her relationships. She says poetry, which started as a hobby, has become her great passion.

Featured reader begins at 7:00 and the open mic will directly follow. Our hosts, the Ike Box, feature a wide variety of beverages and snack options! The Ike Box is located at 229 Cottage St NE in Salem, at the intersection of Chemeketa and Cottage. http://www.ikebox.com/

May
15
Wed
2019
Art Center East Writing Project @ Art Center East
May 15 @ 7:00 pm

Ryan’s chapbook, Smithereens, was published by Imperfect Press. Some of his recent poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Rock & Sling; Phantom Drift; Basalt; DASH Literary Journal; and Bright Bones: Contemporary Montana Writing. He has an MFA from Eastern Washington University and works at Eastern Oregon University. [www.ryanscariano.com]