Book Reviews

OPA BOOK REVIEWS: GUIDELINES AND POLICIES: 
We welcome both members and non-members to send us reviews, but the books themselves need to be published by an OPA member… more information about submitting a book review  | Books Needing Review  |  List of Book Reviews


BOOK REVIEWS

  • Tomorrow Too by Don Colburn, reviewed by Tim Pfau

    October 2, 2013
    Tomorrow Too by Don Colburn

    Tomorrow Too by Don Colburn

    Review by Tim Pfau

    TOMORROW TOO: The Brenda Monologues
    By Don Colburn

    Finishing Line Press, Georgetown KY
    ISBN: 978-1-62229-395-7
    Scheduled publication November 8, 2013. $14
    (Pre-orders through finishinglinepress.com)
    doncolburn.net/tomorrow/
    www.finishinglinepress.com

    Don Colburn is an award winning journalist and poet from Portland, Oregon. His newest book, TOMORROW TOO: The Brenda Monologues, is a deeply moving collection which rose from a news story he covered while reporting for The Oregonian.

    The narrative is deceptively simple. Brenda, a talented actress, became pregnant in the interval between her breast cancer’s onset and its discovery. A year-long struggle to save herself and her developing daughter followed.

    After Brenda’s death, Colburn remained emotionally entwined in the story and searched for its fuller expression of its triumph and tragedy. He found it in this magnificent book. He takes the reader beyond spare journalism deep into the human lives swept up by such currents.

    Seven identified voices, including Brenda, daughter, family members, Doctors and Cancer itself, speak their experiences in 14-liners −twenty-four unrhymed sonnets. They flow, through the silences following each, into a coherent statement of truths we all share in the isolation of our lives.

    Lines between journalism, theater, poetry and story dissolve. A spoken opera of life evolves aria by aria and is delivered with great elegance. Clear and subtle, harmonies and discords sing on the pages.

    One poem, written in dialect, did grate at first. But reading the pieces aloud placed that sonnet firmly and beautifully into the arc of the book. Full appreciation for TOMORROW TOO’s art may require it be read aloud at least once.

    Beyond the depth and range of emotions Colburn delivers, there are also highly skilled elements of poetic craft. Two, of many, deserve comment of their own.

    The first centers on the power of form. The lyric balance between the voices eases their transformation into a coherent whole. His chosen form’s 14-line constraints drive an equal weighting of voices. Each statement stands alone as a well written poem. None stand out as more, or less, important to the theme. They can be played against the others individually, or in groups, as we trace Colburn’s semantic map to find our destinations.

    The second, seemingly contradictory, lesson is that there are no borders in art. Elements of journalism, poetry, and theater run through this book and all are necessary. Colburn’s breadth of understanding these arts is a key to his success. His carefully crafted use of each enhances them all.

    This book stands as a single beautiful poem which might come to be seen as one of our century’s great works. It expanded the room in my heart for joy and may likewise enrich yours.

    Reviewer Bio:

    Tim Pfau is a Salem poet who’s read, written and occasionally published poetry since his childhood. He has served on the OPA Board and as Membership Chair. He says that he is most moved by the human stories shared in poetry.

  • In the White Room by Elizabeth McLagan, reviewed by Erik Muller

    August 27, 2013

    Review by Erik Muller 

    In the White Room
    By Elizabeth McLagan

    CW Books
    ISBN# 978-1-62549-014-8
    2013, 92pp., $18
    www.readcwbooks.com

    Elizabeth McLagan, a determined poet in an indeterminate world, sets up early the terms of her collection, In the White Room. The poet takes the preface page to offer definitions of “room,” some restraining, some liberating, some opening out to synonyms one would not necessarily associate with the word. So here’s focus, yet also leeway and latitude and play. The other key term of the title, “white,” occurs throughout with a variety of applications—of course, with snow and the Far North, yet also with “the moon’s tombstone” and “the lung’s white tree.” So McLagan is our determined guide to an undetermined destination, along an undetermined route.

    Imagery is one of this poetry’s chief excitements because often the images do not serve realistic depiction or clearly progressive narrative. Not that McLagan cannot sketch deftly and exactly: “That park where twig light//tattooed her arm” (“Slow Lens Narrowing”). The poet presents images that often go beyond realism, as illustrated in “Midnight under the Mouths of Chimneys,” a night strangely animating household objects: “Be kind/bent tongue of a blue shoe,” the crockery “all white of the eye, no lips.” Energy in such imagery enacts the entire book’s straining among competing definitions of “room” and among the contrasting values assigned to white. There is no settling down here.

    In a similar spirit, the sequencing in these poems is also shifting, thus demanding and involving as well. Some poems are built with sequences of imagery that create atmosphere, a peculiar room or landscape. Some begin with a question to be explored. Commonly, the imagery is disjunctive, expansive, widely-referencing, as seen in the closing of “Visitation in the Form of a Blue Feather”:

    One rung of a ladder we could climb

    against the long-hipped swells of heat’s
    invisible body. Hollow and stinging,

    a plumage of knives. We’d preen
    and flare. We’d vex the evening.

    Just now the feather’s lonely kisses
    meet the ground. While we’re elsewhere

    launching sadness, it rests in the curve
    of itself, beckoning madly.

    What a rich collocation! Ladders, heat, knives, kisses. Especially intriguing is the relationship between the feather and the speaker who begins this meditation by asking:

    What does it mean, this arrow of flesh,
    a bright trim dropped from sky—

    if we fail to touch, it’s failure
    prickly with barbs . . .

    Who might fail to touch, speaker and feather, speaker and the other(s) of this “we”? And possibly without touching the feather, the speaker and companion(s) move off, missing out on the feather’s gift. So not only the attempts at catching the feather in an image seem inconclusive, the dramatic scene finally shows even the speaker not attentive to this visitation.

    In poems about painters, imagined paintings, and, of course, rooms, McLagan reveals some of her own poetics. In “Kandinsky’s Hunger,” after a tour de force describing one of his paintings, the painter’s voice or the poet’s concludes, “Let everything enter. Shut nothing out.” A nocturnal speaker of “Some Life” tells how “The bone moon raises its hackles./Everywhere a white seething.” While form in “Still Life with Oranges” can appear as “imposition and restraint,” such limits are finally pushed against: “from form and its blackened edge, the heart/clamors from a body that can only partly contain it.”

    The body itself a room, the room full of words, uncertainty about whether to stay outside or go in—what does it mean? what could happen? So, the poet of In the White Room is both sophisticated about poetry and candid about her perplexities. This mesh of knowing and not knowing does not freeze up the work. Instead, it propels these poems into varied excitements–a wide, yet precarious, freedom of image, sequence, thought, and emotion.

    A note on copyediting: I am unsure if wider spaces between some words are exceptions made by the poet or lapses of the copyeditor. The norm in these poems seems to be conventional spacing between words, so this wider spacing is noisy. And this one is at the feet of the copyeditor: In citations for gratitude, the names of both Paulann Petersen and Stanley Plumly are misspelled.

    Reviewer Bio:       

    Erik Muller is a poet and editor living in Eugene.

  • ‘Understory: Poems’ by Paulann Petersen, reviewed by John Sibley Williams

    June 19, 2013

    Review by John Sibley Williams

    Understory: Poems  
    By Paulann Petersen

    Lost Horse Press 
    2013, 196 pp., $21.95

    Paulann Petersen’s web site Powell’s Books

    Before even opening Paulann Petersen’s latest collection, Understory, I was greeted with a haunting question: what is an “understory”? My mind raced with potential metaphors, each speaking directly to the core of all Petersen’s works—the unspoken, natural story writhing silently beneath her words. Her poems have always been a digging and an uncovering. And the words she carefully selects to uncover what lies beneath have always been a celebration of humanity and humanity’s part in the world.

    But “understory” has another definition also: an underlying layer of vegetation; specifically: the vegetative layer and especially the trees and shrubs between the forest canopy and the ground cover. What better metaphor for Petersen’s poetry than that which grows between the highest, sky-raking trees and the hard earth below our feet? The one word title, so specific in its literal definition, provides the perfect perspective from which to approach this book—there will be glimpses of sparkling firmament and black soil, and the creations of our hands and the interpretations of our eyes will be what brings them together.

    Featuring a vast array of natural observations and philosophical inquiries all rooted in acceptance and admiration, Understory’s 140 poems can be seen as Petersen’s magnum opus, her love song to the world, a trail of breadcrumbs for the endless external path that leads us ever closer to ourselves.

    In “As if Each Breath Were the Last”, Petersen writes:

    Each exhalation
    is a small seed of sky let go,
    headed up—each outbound breath
    less rich in what my blood
    gleans from air, more laden with what
    my lungs release.

    There are outside forces in our lives, I read into this metaphor, that influence how we perceive ourselves. There is an innate unity of the other and the self, as primal and necessary as breath. We take in the world, translate it, experience it, make it our own, and the world is both changed and unchanged by our touch.

    But all this, Petersen says, is something:

    have to give away.

    Is this a personal statement or a universal rule of our existence? Does she mean a heart that remains open is always returning what it borrows or is it an unalterable state of humankind to be temporary? Further, does this temporariness imply that we end with our last breath or that in the unity of having lived we are in a sense eternal? In just one short poem I was left with beautifully answerable questions, each that speak to the nature of existence.

    Although far reaching in its scope, each pondering in Understory is firmly rooted in tactile images and sensual perception. There are lush colors and monochromatic shadows. We are able to pick up each poem with our flesh and blood hands, understand it, and yet in understanding realize we have never been so far from knowing. Petersen’s world is not one of cement roads and concrete pillars. We are placed on a muddy, forested path, vast canopy overhead through which slices of sky illuminate our steps.

    The interconnectedness of experience is perfectly captured in the collection’s first poem, “Daily Cosmology”:

    A tree names itself Creation, and having done so,
    reaches above, yet never breaks
    the horizon’s line. Its trunk
    makes a vertical road, way for a voyage
    of ascent.

    Petersen presents us with a self-created world, a self-striving world, capable of independent motivation and action, capable of naming itself. And what it creates is exactly what we endeavor to create—personal ascension. Both by body and by will, by merely existing and by force of resolve, nature becomes our mirror. Petersen speaks to our core beliefs, fears, and dreams by illustrating them in what we traditionally consider “the other”. And in doing so, Petersen makes a bold, quiet claim: there is no “other”.

    Be a leaf, learn
    to eat with your skin,
    swallow sun’s rankness
    wherever it strikes you.

    So begins “Synesthesia”, a poem that speaks directly to the reader, pleading without desperation for a greater understanding of what it means to be one part of a greater whole. Yet, each part is necessary. The tapestry is not just outside us nor can it be defined exclusively from the inside. It bends to our will as we bend to its.  And in bending together, nothing breaks.

    Each poem in Understory is at heart a song. There is a musicality of language and of themes in every line. At times elegiac, at times celebratory, Petersen’s poems shine with an internal light reminiscent of Octavio Paz’ The Tree Within.

    In “Exhalation”, Petersen says:

    This alphabet, you say,
    is spoken in the order
    its sounds come from the body.

    Petersen’s introspection is dazzlingly complex. The harmony she exposes in the human elements—body, breath, song, and creation—are so intertwined with natural elements that it’s impossible to clearly delineate where one begins and ends. Is Petersen implying that nothing really ends? Is she making a subtle case for the arbitrariness of walls? The poems never leave us with easy answers. They are paths we must choose to walk on our own terms, toward whatever destination, and it’s my belief that Petersen seeks less the destination than the journey, less the answers than their questions. In fact, I’d argue, she’s not even demanding of us specific questions but more a change in our thought process. She merely asks us to remain open and inquisitive. She reminds us over and again through her grand embrace of darkness and light that the world is interactive, that it exists without us and for us.

    In “Letters Toward the End”, she connects this vast, circular, questioning world to her own writing process:

    I could write a hundred messages more
    each ending with the same line

    It is up to each of us, in reading Understory, to figure out that last line for ourselves.

    Reviewer Bio:

    John Sibley Williams is the author of Controlled Hallucinations (FutureCycle Press, 2013) and six poetry chapbooks. He is the winner of the HEART Poetry Award, and finalist for the Pushcart, Rumi, and The Pinch Poetry Prizes. John serves as editor of The Inflectionist Review, co-director of the Walt Whitman 150 project, and Marketing Director of Inkwater Press. A few previous publishing credits include: Third CoastInkwell, Cider Press Review, Bryant Literary Review, Cream City Review, The Chaffin Journal, The Evansville Review, RHINO, and various anthologies. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

    . . .

    From Understory: Poems by Paulann Petersen — Letterpress-printed Broadside of Danae Recalls Her Undoing

    Letterpress printed on Lana Royal paper using hand-set type: VanDijck (title & body), Centaur (drop-cap), and Bembo (colophon). Ornament is hand-set as well. Designed and printed by Carla Girard, Mercuria Press. Each copy is hand-printed, numbered and signed. Edition of 75 signed and numbered copies.

    Shipping is $3.50 anywhere in the U.S. Carla is willing to deliver broadsides to you if you live within Portland. (Standard discount for resellers and institutions is 20%, negotiable.) 10” x 14.5” / $25

    To order, contact Carla Girard at Mercuria Press:
    carla@mercuriapress.com / www.mercuriapress.com

  • ‘Motionless from the Iron Bridge: A Northwest Anthology of Bridge Poems’

    June 19, 2013

    Review by Kelly Eastlund

    Motionless from the Iron Bridge: A Northwest Anthology of Bridge Poems 
    Edited by John Sibley Williams

    Bare bone books
    2013, 38 pp., $7.50
    Ordering information

    The first thing that struck me about this anthology, after Jonette Swanson’s haunting iron bridge image on the cover, was the word “motionless” in the title. It hung in my mind, quietly demanding attention. The title, which comes from a poem of the same name by the book’s editor, John Sibley Williams, perfectly captures the contemplative yet grounded tone running through this collection.

    Featuring 12 poets from the Portland area, Motionless celebrates Portland’s famous bridges and rivers through a variety of poetic styles. Voices include well-known writers, such as Oregon Poet Laureate Paulann Petersen and award winning poet David Biespiel, as well as several newer names.

    The book’s organization has a pleasing, bridge-like symmetry. It is divided into two parts, each introduced by a stunning haiku by Katharine Quince in memory of Kirk Reeves. Strong poems by A. Molotkov: “Building” and “Being” act as the footings at the start and end. And in between is an arching span of diverse voices that explore the timeless bridge theme from distinct angles.

    “Winter/Spring” by Leah Stenson speaks of connections between seasons, cultures, and human beings, using midline spaces to create a visual river within the poem. The result is in essentially two poems in one: You can read one side and the other, or across the gap, and it works both ways. Later in the book, Coleman Stevenson also employs this technique wonderfully in “What are we to do with so much water between us?” (I’m sure there is a name for this form, but I don’t know what it is.)

    Paulann Petersen’s “To the Milky Way,” a reflection on the connections between the earth and the cosmos, feels like an intimate prayer:

    Look down,
    Celestial River of Unfamiliar Suns.
    Find me where I’ve come to stand
    on a bridge’s arc, gazing downward
    at an earth-river’s homeward flow.

    While the book is rich in metaphor, it also delves into the topic on a visceral level. “Ross Island Bridge” by Chris Cottrell, for example, gives readers an up-close, gritty view from the perspective of a cyclist in late winter:

    dust from gravel
    left on the street in homage
    to our week of wet snow
    whips the body of those
    too poor or bold to drive
    or ride a bus.

    In David Biespiel’s “Starlings” we witness the beautiful mingling of the natural and manmade world:

    Thus all the starlings rose into the netting of rain

    They rose over the downtown cranes
    One sees gleaming, at evening, above the glass and steel,

    On second reading, commonalities began to emerge. Parent-child relationships appear in several of the poems, including Sam Roderick Roxas-Chua’s “Jesus” with blistering lines such as:

    …Your mother, Maria,
    is going blind behind her dark
    sunglasses

    And again in “Wonder is a Bridge” by David Cooke:

    wonder is a bridge
    holding you over the world
    like the heels
    of your father’s hands
    on your hipbones
    in the air.

    The idea of being at the mid-point of a bridge is repeated too—in “A Different Gravity” by John Sibley Williams:

    In the middle of the bridge, where
    any step crosses a threshold,

    And in “Suspended” by Carrie-Ann Tkaczyk:

    I am
    orphaned at the center

    Yet to me
    this axis is a nest.

    Motionless from the Iron Bridge provides an ensemble of well-crafted meditations on universal themes. So much of our culture worships motion—busy-ness, action, progress. The book’s title with its promise of something deeper and restful drew me in, and it more than delivered on that promise.

    Kelly Eastlund is a member of OPA, Lane Literary Guild, and the Red Sofa Poets. Her poems have appeared in several journals, including Shot Glass Journal, Wild Goose Poetry Review, andThe Whistling Fire. She lives in Springfield, Oregon, with her husband and two dogs.
  • ‘Verge’ by Sara Burant, Comment by Erik Muller

    June 19, 2013

    Sara Burant. Verge. Finishing Line Press. $14

                                                                        Comment by Erik Muller 

    One virtue of chapbooks is their clarity of intent that can be sustained for a reading straight through. It is a rare larger volume that allows this.

    Sara Burant’s Verge assuredly develops its title as theme and variations. The verge is principally a border, an edge, the brink of something. It is also movement in a direction. The vision of the poems allows that this something, this direction, can be both known and unknown, both grasped and unattained. Another variation, verger, suggests someone, the poet in this case, who takes care of the interior of a church and acts as attendant during ceremonies.

    One verge is the boundary between the human and natural worlds. The adolescent student in the poem “Verge” yearns to be free of the classroom and outside with a “flicker of bright something,” a bevy of monarch butterflies. She is maturing for flight. The Japanese Garden can call the adult to things she needs to relearn, how to unwind “to be small/as a winter wren, how to enter/the secret rooms of ferns.”

    Another verge locates the speaker between wanting and not wanting to recognize “our other selves,” as revealed by the burgeoning mushrooms, pushing from underground in all-too-human fingertips, skin, and lips. “We’re caught on the verge” because to be known fully can be “forbidden, even dangerous.”

    The most tender verge involves the poet and her father in the several pieces during her childhood and after his death. In his saying “Goodnight now Sara,” she is safely at one with him, yet the verge is acute as she writes his elegy. The winter-wren with the power to sing “the sky inside him” is the tutelary muse:

    Sing to them, winter wren. Tell them the dead,

    having risen,

    linger inside us like song.

    Song is at the heart of these variations, music being made, being carried. Burant manages even her anecdotal poems as harmonies, drawing together disparate materials and emotions, expressing them smoothly and collectedly. As in the trim lines of “Song”:

    It is light here

    step in

    this heart is boundless

    and stays

    And in “All Flesh,” a poem concluded with one Christian reference among several in the collection, this to the mystic of Norwich:

    for the flames I became, the heat, the rising,

    shards of bone left for the earth to hold

    the way Julian held a hazelnut in her vision.

    And wasn’t she shown in a clear light

    that all flesh, all matter, is ever

    cupped like a nut, a fruit, a seed in God’s

    hand? Think of it: everything

    seen and unseen, even the slow rot

    at the edges of our days.

    The nut, the nest, the father’s embrace— in this finely tuned chapbook, these are the something, the direction, beyond the verge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *