OPA Annual Conference

The 2022 OPA Conference is open for registration!

OPA is bringing our annual conference to you through Zoom! Come celebrate poetry in our region by attending workshops, browsing through our virtual bookroom, and listening to our keynote speaker Jessica Mehta on our theme of Poetry in Troubled times. Go to our events calendar and see the link on October 8th to register.

 About our keynote speaker: Dr. Mehta is an Aniyunwiya (citizen of the Cherokee Nation) poet, artist, and scholar. Currently, she is a Fulbright Senior Scholar based in Bengaluru, India where she is a Visiting Professor curating an anthology of contemporary Indian poetry written in the colonizer’s tongue. Her doctoral work addressed the intersection of poetry and eating disorders while her recent Forecast Change Lab fellowship analyzed the language used in public art calls for Native American artists. She is looking forward to returning to Turtle Island in 2023 to undertake a residency at Kala Art Institute. Mehta is the author of 15 books. Her forthcoming collection from Red Planet Books, [sp]RED, de-colonizes and Indigenizes the tarot deck. Learn more at www.thischerokeerose.com.

Once registered, you will receive a link to the full schedule in your email. Please see the sample schedule here.

If you have trouble registering for the conference with our Wild Apricot web system, please contact the membership chair or use the alternative Submittable link for registering. Members hereNonmembers here.

Previous Guest Poets

OPA has a wonderful history of bringing in, from all parts of our state and all across the nation, poets whose words inspire us and whose workshops teach us. Many of our own members have also led workshops at conferences for free or very nominal fees. We have all been enriched by their contributions as well. Some of our previous guest poets include:

  • Kim Stafford
  • Emmett Wheatfall
  • Paisley Rekdal
  • Paulann Petersen
  • Cindy Williams Gutierrez
  • Heather McHugh
  • Matthew Dickman
  • Judith Montgomery
  • Laurel Blossom
  • Daniel Nathan Terry
  • Clem Starck
  • Charles Goodrich
  • Tess Gallagher
  • Paul Hunter
  • Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge
  • John C. Morrison

The Patricia Ruth Banta Award

The Patricia Ruth Banta Award, which honors an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to Oregon poetry and to OPA’s mission, is presented during the conference. This award was established in honor of Patricia Ruth Banta a former president of the Oregon Poetry Association.

Notes on Nominees:

The nominee can be an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to Oregon poetry and to OPA’s mission to build and sustain a diverse community of Oregon poets, provide Oregon poets opportunities to exchange ideas and learn from one another, further the appreciation of poetry throughout the state, and raise public awareness of Oregon poets. The award will be announced in the fall with a non-monetary prize.

Do you know of an individual or group who deserves recognition for their contributions to the culture of poetry in Oregon? Consider nominating them for the award. Nominations must be made by current OPA members. Click here to download the nomination form. The deadline is Sept. 1.

Scroll to Top