2023 Cascadia Youth Contest Winners

The Oregon Poetry Association is pleased to announce the winners of its 23rd annual Cascadia Youth Poetry Contest.

Quetzali Avila, Lynnette Boyce, Edgar Brown, Korbin Davis, Natalie Foster, Zane Haworth, London Heldsinger, Kennedy Purry, O. Smolen, and Stella Xu were Division I (Kindergarten-Grade 5) winners.

Al Butler, Zack Geistler, Masen Goss, Guy Hardy, Bailey Hostetler, Celeste Kara, Quinn Ramey, Mateo Stahly-Dronkowski, Noelle Swing, and Ophelia Weinzettel were Division II (Grades 6-8) winners.

Lilyann Duncan, Kali Earl, Mari Farrand, Claire Hunsberger, Danin Lacouture, Traben Larsen, Olivia Merila, Bryony Moss, Scott Train, Jonathan Vasquez, and Rebecca Winn were Division III (Grades 9-12) winners.

Each poet received $50, publication in the online Cascadia anthology, and the invitation to read their poem during a June 1 Zoom Celebration hosted by OPA.

Cascadia, the Oregon Youth Poetry Contest, serves to nurture the talent of young Oregon poets by providing an opportunity for their poems to be widely shared, published, and celebrated.

The 2024 contest will open February 1, 2024. All Oregon K-12 students are encouraged to submit.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top